Outdoor saunas: barrels and cabins, foundation, roof and power

An outdoor sauna is a kit of thick wooden staves or wall boards that you assemble on a pad in the yard, with a 240 V heater wired out to it. The kit is the visible cost. The foundation, the roof and the circuit from the house are where the planning goes.

A wooden barrel sauna on a lawn

Barrel or cabin, and what goes under it

The shape decides how much room you get for the footprint. The rest is about keeping the kit dry and level. An outdoor sauna where it is hot and humid covers wood and weather in more detail.

Round

Barrel

Staves held by steel bands, resting on two or more cradles. The curved ceiling leaves less air to heat than a square room of the same footprint, and the kits go together in a day or two.

Square

Cabin

Walls, a pitched roof and often a porch or changing room. Full height to the walls, more room per square foot of yard, and a prepared foundation.

Under it

Foundation

Almost Heaven puts the load at 1,000 lb and more with people inside. Redwood Outdoors lists concrete, a solid deck, compacted gravel or level pavers. Cabins need concrete or a built base.

Over it

Roof

Bare barrel staves shed rain but are not waterproof. Some kits ship with shingles; Almost Heaven sells a cover and suggests a shelter for a fully dry barrel.

Quick picks

The short answer for common situations. Each links to the full card below.

Barrels on Amazon

Few outdoor saunas sell on Amazon; the established makers sell direct or through dealers, and their models are in the tables below the cards. Interior volumes marked calculated treat the listing's interior as a cylinder.

Product links on this page go to Amazon. If you buy through them, Which Sauna earns a commission. How we pick and earn

Outdoor sauna kits on Amazon
ModelShapePeopleHeaterWoodLink
ALEKO cedar barrel with porch canopy, 2–4 personOutdoor barrel kit, electricBarrel, porch2–44.5 kW KIPCedar, 1.2 inAmazon
ALEKO white pine barrel with porch canopy, 2–4 personOutdoor barrel kit, electricBarrel, porch2–44.5 kW KIP (maker)PineAmazon
ALEKO white pine barrel with porch canopy, 6–8 personOutdoor barrel kit, electricBarrel, porch6–88 kW KIP (maker)PineAmazon
HOSAUNA outdoor barrel, 4–6 person, 9 kWOutdoor barrel kit, electricBarrel4–69 kW (listing)Spruce (listing)Amazon
ALEKO cedar barrel with porch canopy, 2–4 person

Outdoor barrel kit, electric

ALEKO cedar barrel with porch canopy, 2–4 person

ALEKO Liatris SB4CED

A rustic cedar barrel with a covered front porch, shingles and a 4.5 kW Harvia KIP in the kit. Amazon offers the same barrel with a 6 kW heater as a second option.

Inside
64 in long, 70 in diameter; about 143 ft³ (calculated)
Outside
81 × 73 × 79 in
Heater
Harvia KIP 4.5 kW, 240 V hard-wired (maker)
Wood
Cedar, about 1.2 in (30 mm)
Roof
Shingles included
Weight
880 lb assembled

Suits: Two to four people, a level pad in the yard, and a 240 V circuit run out to it.

Weigh: At 880 lb assembled plus the people inside, the pad matters; ALEKO states no foundation requirement. Its 1-year warranty is the shortest among the outdoor makers here.

View on Amazon
ALEKO white pine barrel with porch canopy, 2–4 person

Outdoor barrel kit, electric

ALEKO white pine barrel with porch canopy, 2–4 person

ALEKO Celasia SB5PINECPBLK

A Finland pine barrel with a porch canopy and black end caps. The kit includes a bucket, scoop, sand timer, thermo-hygrometer and lights; ALEKO's own page pairs it with a 4.5 kW Harvia KIP.

Inside
39 in long, 70 in diameter; about 87 ft³ (calculated)
Outside
65 × 73 × 79 in
Heater
Harvia KIP 4.5 kW (maker); Amazon offer unclear
Wood
Finland pine; 1/2 in or 1.2 in, the maker's page gives both
Weight
968 lb (maker)

Suits: A smaller yard, where pine costs less than cedar.

Weigh: By the listing's 39 by 70 inch interior the room is about 87 cubic feet, under the 100 ft³ Harvia sets as the KIP-45's minimum; confirm the room size with ALEKO. One listing bullet reads "Choose the heater", so check whether the Amazon offer includes one.

View on Amazon
ALEKO white pine barrel with porch canopy, 6–8 person

Outdoor barrel kit, electric

ALEKO white pine barrel with porch canopy, 6–8 person

ALEKO Anemona SB8PINECP

The long version of ALEKO's pine barrel, 88 inches outside with a porch. ALEKO's page includes an 8 kW Harvia KIP and 35 lb of stones.

Inside
62 in long, 70 in diameter; about 138 ft³ (calculated)
Outside
88 × 73 × 79 in
Heater
Harvia KIP 8 kW (maker); listing contradicts itself
Wood
Finland pine
Roof
Shingles included (maker)

Suits: A larger household that wants a barrel rather than a cabin.

Weigh: The Amazon title says "8kW Harvia Heater" while its bullets say "HEATER NOT INCLUDED"; confirm before buying. The listing's interior works out to about 138 cubic feet, below the KIP-80's 250 ft³ minimum, so ask ALEKO for the room volume before wiring for 8 kW.

View on Amazon

Outdoor barrel kit, electric

HOSAUNA outdoor barrel, 4–6 person, 9 kW

HOSAUNA 4–6 person barrel

A carbonized spruce barrel sold in nine sizes, with a 9 kW heater, stones, a ladle, a bucket and LED lights in the box. No maker site turned up, so every figure is the listing's.

Size
80 × 80 × 80 in on the selected variant (listing)
Heater
9 kW, voltage not stated (listing)
Wood
Carbonized spruce (listing)
In the box
Heater, stones, ladle, bucket, LED lights (listing)

Suits: A buyer who wants the heater and accessories in one order and will verify the heater's listing on arrival.

Weigh: The listing does not state the heater's voltage or safety listing. A 9 kW heater at 240 V draws 37.5 A, which needs 8-gauge copper and a large breaker.

View on Amazon

Sold direct and through dealers

Almost Heaven is owned by Harvia and ships Harvia heaters. Its barrels use 1⅜ inch cedar, and the lights run on a separate 120 V 15 A plug-in circuit.

Almost Heaven barrels and cabin
ModelOutside, W × D × HInsideHeater and circuit
Salem barrel2 people78 × 47 × 75⅜ in75¼ × 39¼ × 69¼ in6 kW, 240 V, 30 A
Pinnacle barrel4 people78 × 71 × 81½ in75¼ × 63¼ × 69¼ in6 kW, 240 V, 30 A
Audra canopy barrel2–4 people78 × 71 × 75⅜ in75¼ × 51¼ × 69¼ in6 kW, 240 V, 30 A
Princeton barrel6 people78 × 94 × 75⅜ in75¼ × 86⅜ × 69¼ in8 kW, 240 V, 40 A
Allegheny cabin6 people, spruce, porch86 × 125 × 92 in75 × 75 × 84 in8, 9 or 10.5 kW at 40, 45 or 50 A, or a wood stove

Dundalk LeisureCraft builds its Canadian Timber line in eastern white cedar and sells through dealers. It is the one outdoor maker that publishes interior volume and a recommended heater for each model, which makes its table a useful check on the sizing calculator.

Dundalk LeisureCraft Canadian Timber
ModelInsideVolumeRecommended heater
Harmony CTC22Barrel, 4 seats71 × 83 × 79 in222 ft³6 kW
Serenity CTC2245Barrel with changing room, 5 seats71 × 83 × 79 in222 ft³7.5 kW
Tranquility CTC2345Barrel, 6 seats94.75 × 83 × 79 in297 ft³7.5 kW
GranbyCabin, 3 seats60 × 60 × 84.25 in141 ft³6 kW, electric only
PalmerCabin, 4 seats60 × 84 × 86.25 in263 ft³6 kW
Georgian CTC88Cabin, 6 seats84 × 84 × 86.25 in343 ft³9 kW

Redwood Outdoors builds in heat-treated hemlock 1½ inches thick and ships a 6 kW Harvia KIP as the base heater. Its 6-person barrel has 140 cubic feet inside, which falls under the KIP-60's 170 ft³ minimum and inside the KIP-45's 100 to 210; its 4-person cabin has 169.6. Both come with asphalt roofing, and Redwood asks for a moisture barrier under the cabin's base.

Getting power out to it

Every outdoor heater here needs a 240 V circuit on its own 2-pole breaker: 30 A for 6 kW and 40 A for 8 kW in Almost Heaven's and Redwood's tables. That run from the house panel to the yard is often the largest cost after the kit, and it scales with distance. Almost Heaven's manual adds two wiring rules: copper with 90 °C insulation, and no aluminum. An outdoor infrared cabin needs a circuit too; Sun Home's 2-person outdoor model asks for a dedicated 240 V 20 A circuit with GFCI protection.